four simple goals before 2013–inspired by ABM

Hello, hello!

I’ve been catching up on my favorite blogs on this lazy Saturday and I am very excited to participate in 4 Simple Goals with Elsie from A Beautiful Mess! I love goal-setting, list-making, self-improvement . . . the whole bit. It just makes me thrive. I have so many day-to-day things to accomplish (don’t we all?) so I often forget to prioritize those little things that make life special. I really like the idea of making a list of things to do that will solely bring me joy. Just putting something I should enjoy–like sketching ideas for some accessories Bea and I want to make–on a to do list with things like “scrub bathtub” or “vacuum stairs” automatically makes it seem like a chore!

I hope that this will help remind me that these simple goals do not have to be completed in a weekend, and that they shouldn’t be stressful!

Interestingly enough, I did intend on posting part of my weekend to do list. Most notably, it included:

1. pluck eyebrows

2. trim bangs

3. shave legs

I’m 0 for 3 on that hairy to do list (Ooh! A pun!), so I’ll just move on to my very own 4 Simple Goals!

1. Photography: I want to take more photos of Wes and I. For some reason, I feel super awkward asking people to take a picture of us if we’re out and about, and Wes doesn’t particularly enjoy hamming it up for the camera. I’m super sad that we have only a few pictures of us from our first year of marriage! But, I’ve decided to move past that, cherish the ones we do have (did you see the previous post!?), and make an effort to snap some pics of us on a weekly basis.

2. Projects: I have so many projects in progress right now! They include framing some Pinterest images for our bedroom, making our headboard, spray painting some fabulous chairs I found for our dining room (but oh, what color!?!), envisioning our wedding scrapbook, reupholstering my living room chairs . . . Oh. My. Goodness. There’s so many, and I have many more that I can’t even think of. Well then. The goal is to steadily work on just one. I’m officially picking . . . wedding scrapbook!

3. Family Cookbook: Recently, Wes and I realized just how many delicious recipes we have discovered that are delicious, healthy, and inexpensive. Yet, it seems like every week we have no idea what to cook! We’ve decided we need to begin documenting exactly how we like making our faves, like this delicious spaghetti and our new favorite soup. That way we’ll be able to whip out the goods (that did not sound appropriate . . . ) super quick without asking “Did we use the blender or the food processor on those cashews?” or “Didn’t we like it with three cans of cannellini beans instead of two?” So I’ll probably develop a nice little template to use during our cooking escapades . . . and I see a cookbook DIY in the future!

4. Dress Up: I have a secret . . . I love clothes, but I hate getting dressed. I rarely shed my pajamas on the weekend (I do a lot of homework and house cleaning!!!), and you’ll often see me in my workout duds between classes. And then I have to wear scrubs to work. So I change my clothes all the time, but never really get put together. It’s very easy to get into a style rut because . . . comfy clothes are comfortable! But comfortable also sometimes means blah. And then I feel blah. So, I’m going to make more of an effort to get put together. I have a lot of cute clothes and I want to wear them, by golly!

I hope you’re inspired . . . check out A Beautiful Mess to see their goals and link up your own!

xoxoxo

cat

3 thoughts on “four simple goals before 2013–inspired by ABM

  1. Pingback: hey, teach! | cee cee and the bea

Leave a Reply

