rally cat

Hello lovelies!

I hope your weekend is going swell. I wanted to share with you some amazingness from my Saturday!

I traveled to Jefferson City, Missouri yesterday, with a group of fabulous Drury students and professors to participate in the Unite Against the War on Women Rally. We had a great time road-tripping it to Jeff and an even better time during the march.

This event was important to me because I wanted to meet more men and women who have the same concerns as me regarding issues like access to affordable birth control, violence against women, ย and issues surrounding healthcare and education (for all individuals).

This was my first rally, and I loved the amount of diversity among the participants–old and young, men and women, urban and rural. It is so important not to stereotype–a feminist (also known as a humanist) has many different faces and backgrounds!

For the event, I made Chai inspired cupcakes, and dubbed them “Keep Your Laws out of my VaChaiNa Cupcakes”. I only spent one evening developing the recipe, and while they got rave reviews, they really just taste like pumpkin bread/gingerbread, so it’s back to the baking tins to develop a cupcake that really just screams “CHAI TEA, BABY!”

I am also excited to tell you that I have officially decided to earn my teaching certificate in elementary education. I haven’t talked a lot on here about my career goals, but for the majority of my time in college they included earning my MD or PA-C. (I wanted to be a doctor or a physician assistant). Only my mom, sister, a few close friends, and Wes really know that I’ve had serious qualms about those goals.

I’ve spent the last year doing some serious soul searching. I realized that I am not the same person I was when I first started college. I have new weaknesses and new strengths, and have come to the conclusion that a career in medicine is not for me. ย In times of question, my little self inside my heart has always piped up and squeaked “you would make a fabulous teacher!” (Seriously. I imagine that my conscience sounds like theย mice from Cinderella).

I feel very blessed that I let myself take this year to seriously consider becoming an educator. And I feel very brave for not worrying about “wasting” the last four years of college just because I won’t be using my biology degree to become a doctor. Those experiences will never be a waste. And I feel very lucky to have a most supportive husband who told me last night that I can master any skill I want to (including the skills needed for effective teaching) but at the end of the day “good teachers wake up and want to do what they do everyday. And I know you want to change the world.”

At the rally, a lady named Peggy Cochran spoke and while I don’t recall the details of her speech, it reminded me that I was at that rally because all I want to do with my life is help others realize and affirm their worth as a human being. And that’s what my teachers did for me.

So that’s what I’m going to do.

xoxo (rally) cat

4 thoughts on “rally cat

  1. Best. Cupcake. Name. Ever. ๐Ÿ™‚ So happy for you that you’re pursuing a Teacher’s Certificate. We need more good teachers in this world. ๐Ÿ™‚ Good luck!

  2. Pingback: good things! | cee cee and the bea

  3. Pingback: flashback #1 // a peek into my diaries from yesteryear | cee cee and the bea

  4. Yeah for school!! Deano is smiling at EVERY statement made here! I am so happy to hear you still listen to your soul and have the strength to find what you truly ๐Ÿ’—love, so your life can be spent feeling meaningful and rich with happiness ( the real kind, not the “stuff” or the “well everyone else” kind). After 11 years in kindergarten (12 if u count when I was a student;)) I can still say I am happy… Not because I have a “great” life, but simply because I love what I do. There are days I wonder why I am a glutton for punishment (kinder is pretty intense on the chaos scale) but it always comes down to words and glitter. I know that my life is meaningful because I have helped nearly 400 children (from ALL walks of life) fall in love with learning, and become readers and writers (something some of their parents never learned) and because they CAN, they will be able to discover the true power of words and become whatever they dream… And glitter makes it all worthwhile ๐Ÿ™‚ if you have never seen the face of a five year old experiencing glitter details for the first time, it is pretty friggin fabulous ๐Ÿ™‚ boy or girl, rich or poor, they all light up with “whooooa! That’s sooooooo COOL” and the thought of adding glitter to a project makes any task bearable and exciting ๐Ÿ™‚
    Soooooooo, keep listening to the words in your soul so your life can continue to be amazing, happy and FULL of sparkle ๐ŸŽ‡ ๐Ÿ˜Œ

    Love you!
    Carrie

Leave a Reply

