DIY fleas-be-gone pup collar

I live in Missouri, and in the summer, we get the bugs like craaazy. And my poor baby dogs suffer tremendously (and I, by association, do as well, since Gracie is old and must stay in the house all Summer) from the itchy fleas and chiggers and the persistent ticks.  So, I decided to get out my herbs and wage war on the critters.

This herbal dog collar is super easy to make, and inexpensive, too!

Here’s what you’ll need:

A bandana. If your pooch is pampered and lives it up in your home all day, you can most likely get by with a gently used bandana you already have. Now, if your dog likes to frolic outside and run through bushes and brambles, I strongly suggest you buy a brand new bandana, so it lasts a wee bit longer.

A sewing machine.

A marking pen. I use one with disappearing ink.

Herbs. The only herbs I had on hand were rosemary, lemonbalm, mint, and lavender. There are many more plants in the world that repel unwanted bugs, but these are probably the easiest to come by. The only thing I did to prepare my herbs was pulverize the rosemary before I put it in the collar. Rosemary is prickly and sharp, and I didn’t want it poking through the fabric.  I did this by busting out my mortar and pestle, but you don’t have to go Medieval: place your rosemary in a bag and crunch it with  a rolling pin.

Step 1. Begin by folding your bandana in half to create a triangle.

Step 2. Next, fold the top of the bandana (the straight edge) over 1 1/2 inches- this will be tube for the herbs to reside!

Step 3. Place your tape measure at the bottom of your fold and right where the fold meets the corner of the triangle, then measure inward 2 1/2 inches.

Step 4. Take your pen and mark it. Repeat step 3 and step 4 on the opposite side.

Step 5. Using the dot you made as a guide, sew one (just one!) end shut.

Step 6. Now you will need to sew on the edge of the fold you made in step 2 to make the tube.

Step 7. Take your herbs and stuff them in the tube. Put in enough herbs so that they fill out the tube, but not so much that it’s bulky.

Step 8. All you have to do now is sew up that last edge, using that dot you made as a guide. That’s it!

Tie the collar around your dog (or cat!) and have him/her strike a pose, like my Love did.

I hope this tutorial helps your furry friends this summer!

xo, bea

Leave a Reply

